# System Dynamics Society Minutes of the General Business Meeting July 18, 2017, Cambridge, MA

1. Call to Order and Announcements

President Leonard Malczynski called the meeting to order at 8:07 am.

President Malczynski thanked the outgoing Officers and Policy Council Members.

- Past President: Jürgen Strohhecker
- Vice President Chapter Activities: Martin Schaffernicht
- Vice President Finance: David F. Andersen
- Policy Council (2014-2016): Jim Duggan, Elke Husemann, David Wheat

President Malczynski welcomed and thanked the incoming, renewing and continuing Officers and Policy Council Members:

President: Leonard Malczynski (2017)

President Elect: I. Martinez-Moyano (2017)

Past President: Etiënne A.J.A. Rouwette (2017)

Secretary: J. Bradley Morrison (2017-2018)

Vice President Chapter Activities: Stefano Armenia (2017-2019)

Vice President Electronic Presence: Robert L. Eberlein (2015-2017)

Vice President Finance: David F. Andersen (2017-2019)

Vice President Marketing & Communications: Warren Farr (2017-2018 partial

term)

Vice President Meetings: Erik Pruyt (2016-2018)

Vice President Membership: Özge Pala (2015-2017)

Vice President Pre-College Education: Diana Fisher (2017-2019)

Vice President Professional Practice: Kenneth G. Cooper (2016-2018)

Vice President Publications: Pål Davidsen (2015-2017)

Policy Council (2015-2017): Özge Karanfil, Raafat Zaini (partial term 2016-2017 for E. Pruyt), Gönenç Yucel, Elke Husemann (partial term 2017 for S. Armenia)

Policy Council (2016-2018): Sharon Els, Rebecca Niles, Lees Stuntz (partial term for D. Fisher) and Yutaka Takahashi

Policy Council (2017-2019): John Pastor Ansah, Nancy Hayden, Florian Kapmeier, Nuno Videira

2. Motion to approve the minutes of the 2016 meeting (available on the website). Bob Eberlein moved (Nathan Forrester seconded). Motion passed.

#### 3. Other Announcements

President Malczynski requested members to support the Student Chapter by participating in the silent auction they are running with a number of autographed books and other special items.

### 4. Transition of the Society Headquarters

Eliot Rich, AVP Finance, presented the financial state of the Society. He noted that in 2016 we incurred a net loss of approximately \$35,000. Details of financial performance are available in an online report.

He reported that on August 31, 2018, the Society will close its office at University of Albany and migrate to Capitol Hill Management Services (CHMS), a professional association management company. This move follows the recommendation of a Transition Committee, appointed by the Policy Council, comprised of members from around the world, and supervised by the Administrative Committee, who worked for approximately two years to consider options for the Society. They placed a high value on resilience, operational factors, technological capabilities, and support for continuity of employment for staff. During this transition, Roberta Spencer will retire from her role as Executive Director. We expect that she will continue serving the Society on a part-time basis in a different role.

The year 2018 will be a transition year during which there will be extraordinary expenses. We have budgeted for a net loss during 2018 of approximately \$141,000. This budget is based on a pessimistic scenario for a number of uncertainties regarding the transition costs.

Eliot answered questions about continuity of employment, as several members expressed concerns for the current staff and for organizational memory.

#### 5. Officer Reports as Needed

Bob Eberlein, VP Electronic Presence, reported that the transition to CHMS will include moving to a different Conference submission system.

6. Announcement of the Slate of Officers and Policy Council Members to take office in 2018

President Elect: Martin F. G. Schaffernicht (2018)

Past President: Leonard Malczynski (2018)

President: I. Martinez-Moyano (2018)

Vice President Finance: Eliot Rich (2018-2019 partial term) Vice President Electronic Presence: Robert Eberlein (2018-2020)

Vice President Membership: Özge Pala (2018-2020)

Vice President Publications: Krystyna A. Stave (2018-2020)

Policy Council (2018-2020): Shayne Gary, Hilde Martinussen, Josephine Kaviti Musango, and Raafat Zaini.

- 7. Announcement of the open positions for which nominations are being sought:
  - President Elect: (2019)
  - Secretary: (2019-2020)
  - VP Marketing and Communications: (2019-2021)
  - VP Meetings: (2019-2021)
  - VP Professional Practice: (2019-2021)
  - Policy Council (2019-2021): Four members

## 8. Open Discussion

We had 1149 members at the end of our membership year. There should be a summary graph of membership.

## 9. Adjourn

John Sterman moved (Lynn Johannson seconded). Motion passed.