## Report to the Policy Council from the Chair of the Awards Committee

John Morecroft January 2006

The Society has two Awards Committees, one responsible for the Forrester Award and the other the Dana Meadows Student Award. Information about both awards is on the Society's website, including eligibility criteria, nominations procedure and past winners.

The Committee members for 2006 are listed below

#### Forrester Award Committee 2006

There are five members of the Committee who must all be previous winners of the Forrester Award. Following changes introduced last year members will normally serve a 5-year term. New members are proposed by the Chair and confirmed by the Committee. I am pleased to report that Peter Milling has agreed to join in 2006. Peter replaces George Richardson. On behalf of the Committee I would like to thank George for all his efforts in supporting our work over many years. I can also report that Jac Vennix has agreed to take over from me as Chair in 2007.

John Morecroft (Chair)
David Andersen
Peter Milling
John Sterman
Jac Vennix

### **Dana Meadows Student Award Committee 2006**

Joel Rahn has joined the Committee in 2006, replacing George Richardson. Thanks again to George for his help with the student award ever since it was launched.

Joel Rahn (Coordinator)
Bob Cavana
Andy Ford
John Morecroft
Krystyna Stave
John Sterman
Erich Zahn

## **Applications Award**

A new Applications Award was proposed last year by Alan Graham, recommended by the Forrester Awards Committee and approved by the Policy Council in last year's winter meeting. The first Applications Award will be made in 2007.

# **Extracts From A Report on the The Successful Conclusion of the Dana Meadows Award Endowment Fund That Appeared in the Society's Fall Newsletter**

"We are delighted to announce the successful conclusion of the fund drive to permanently endow the Dana Meadows Student Award, given for the best work by students presented at the annual conference of the Society. Announced in October 2004, donations were fully matched through the generosity of a diverse group of Dana's colleagues, former students, and supporters of the Society, doubling the impact of contributions by Society members and friends. In total, one hundred individuals and organizations contributed to the fund drive, including thirty-one who contributed at the 2005 conference in Boston, putting us over our goal with a total of \$65,600.00 raised".

.....

"We thank all those who contributed so generously to the fund. We are particularly grateful to Jane and Allen Boorstein, who not only supported the Award from its inception but also contributed to the endowment fund. We are indebted to the Boorsteins for their strong and continuing support.

See http://www.systemdynamics.org/Awards/DMA/Donors\_List.htm for a full list of contributors.

Again, thanks to all who contributed".

John Sterman, Roberta Spencer, Michael Radzicki, Drew Jones and John Morecroft