Wednesday, September 25, 2024

Recording
Chat
Transcript

Attendees

Voting: Allyson Beall King, John Pastor Ansah, Asmeret Naugle, Raafat Zaini, Lees Stuntz, Jenson Goh, Jeroen Struben, Martin Kunc, Diana Fisher, Bob Eberlein, Eliot Rich, Hyunjung Kim, Saras Chung, Willem Auping, Inge Bleijenbergh, Brad Morrison

Non-voting: Patricia Taeko, Jim Hines, Raquel Buzogany, Rebecca Niles

Agenda

0:05 Welcome and Agenda (Allyson) 0:05 Motions 1:10 Review of Previous Conferences and ISDC2025 Conference Venue (John) Adjournment

Minutes

President, Allyson Beall King, brought the meeting to order, and introduced the agenda.

Secretary, Lees Stuntz, moved to approve the June and August 28 2024 PC minutes. Hyunjung seconded. Motion passed.

President, Allyson, moved to appoint Florian Kapmeier as member (2024-2026) of the Awards Committee. Lees seconded. Motion passed.

VP Meetings, John Ansah, introduced the ISDC 2025 Venue discussion. He reviewed historical data with a closer look since 2022. An informal survey among PC members pointed to a strong support for considering a change of location. John then presented details on the preliminary exploration of the BU, MIT and MIT Sloan alternatives and compared those to the Schaumburg location. Participants assessed the cost analysis as being in a decent range of uncertainty and moved on to discuss other mission-relevant criteria to change the venue; this included higher attendance also from students, a broader team of people to support the conference activities and a conference host. Next steps included skipping the survey to members on their preferred location and adding investigation points to be presented to PC members (accommodation costs, date availability, organizing team). Further investigation points can be sent to VP-meetings and office.

Lees moved to recess this meeting and reconvene on Oct 9th at 11am EDT via Zoom. Inge seconded. Motion passed.