Report of the Community Service Awards Committee September 2022 David Andersen, Chair

The Community Service Award Committee was formed in 2009 to designate award winners as appropriate for awards for exceptional service. The Committee is charged with determining which awards, regular or special, are appropriate for community service, and determining who should receive them. These awards will not involve any money. In some years an award is not presented.

The committee is successfully performing its duties.

2022 Committee Members and Terms:

David Andersen (Chair) 2018-2022
Jac Vennix 2019-2023
Roberta Spencer 2020-2024
Robert Eberlein 2021-2025
Andrew Ford 2022-2026 NOTE: Andrew Ford is retiring at the end of 2022

2023 Committee Members and Terms:

Jac Vennix 2019-2023 Roberta Spencer (Chair) 2020-2024 Robert Eberlein 2021-2025 Birgit Kopainsky 2022 2023-2026 Partial term Rebecca Niles 2023-2027

On-Going Transition Planning for Our Committee

Andrew Ford has retired from this committee, and we sincerely thank him for his 10+ years of service. In September 2022, the chair asked Birgit Kopainsky if she was willing to serve on this committee, starting in 2023 (partial term). She agreed.

After serving two five-year terms, David Andersen will retire at the end of 2022. In June 2022, The chair asked Rebecca Niles if she was willing to serve on this committee, starting in 2023 (full term). She agreed.

Both new members are unanimously and heartily welcomed by the entire committee.

In 2023, when Jac Vennix retires, the Community Service Awards Committee plans to invite Sara Metcalf to serve on the committee starting in 2024.

We will carefully and wisely rotate in other new members one at a time, starting in 2025, selecting from the list of previous award winners.

Per the Society's policy, the award selection subcommittees serve at the pleasure of the standing Awards Committee. With this report, we are informing the standing Awards Committee of our actions.

Past Committee Members and Terms:

James Lyneis (2009) Jack Pugh (2009 – 2011)

Erling Moxnes (2010) Bob Eberlein (2009 – 2010) (2011 – 2015)

 Rogelio Oliva (2011)
 Peter Milling (2014-2018)

 David Lane (2012)
 Andrew Ford (2012-2022)

 David Ford (2013)
 David Andersen (2013-2022)

Outstanding Service Award Recipients:

Since 2009, for 14 years there have been 13 recipients. There were four years when no award was made and three years when two awards were given.

2009 Andrew Ford 2016: Yaman Barlas

2010 NONE (Two awarded in in 2011) 2017: NONE

2011 David Andersen and George Richardson 2018: John Sterman

2012 Peter Milling 2019: NONE 2013 NONE (Two awarded in in 2014) 2020: Erik Pruyt

2014 Pål Davidsen and Jac A. M. Vennix 2021 John Morecroft

2015 Dean Christensen 2022 Birgit Kopainsky and Sara Metcalf

Previous to the formation of this Community Service Award Committee, there were two other recipients of a similar award, the **Lifetime Service Recognition Award**. Past recipients:

1997 Alexander L. Pugh, III

2005 Robert Eberlein