## Wednesday, December 15, 2021

Presentation Chat Recording

## **Attendees**

**Voting:** Paulo Gonçalves, Birgit Kopainsky, Eliot Rich, Sara Metcalf, Diana Fisher, Shayne Gary, Raafat Zaini, Tom Fiddaman, Munaf Aamir, Sharon Els, Lees Stuntz, Will Glass-Husain, Bob Eberlein, Hyunjung Kim, Paul Newton, David Keith, Asmeret Naugle

**Non-voting:** Saras Chung, Juan Pablo Torres, Billy Schoenberg, Eduardo Franco, Jean-Jacques Lauble, Fernando Redivo, Raquel Buzogany, Rebecca Niles

## Agenda

0:05 Welcome (Paulo Gonçalves)

0:15 Stewardship Committee (Birgit Kopainsky)

0:15 2021 Overview (Paulo Gonçalves)

0:30 2022 Strategy Planning (Shayne Gary)

0:10 Recognition of Officers (Paulo Gonçalves)

0:10 Introduction of new PC members (Paulo Gonçalves)

0:05 Nominating Committee (Birgit Kopainsky)

Adjournment

## **Minutes**

**President** Paulo Gonçalves brought the meeting to order, highlighting the need for officers to fill out the Conflict of Interest form and introducing the meeting's agenda.

Stewardship committee liaison, Birgit Kopainsky, revisited the committee's goals and reported that in 2021 Roberta Spencer, part-time staff, interviewed a number of people finding that there is no interest in giving SDS money in general support but there is excitement for giving to more specific efforts. For 2022, Birgit shared that the committee's activities will be refocused according to findings and no extra funds will be asked for from the Society. The committee will aim to set up in-house operations that can easily accept funds and continue fund raising. Paulo asked what specific projects are considered, Birgit shared this is not clear yet as everyone has their preferred project and they should be aligned with the SDS' strategy.

**President**, Paulo Gonçalves, shared a strategy recap identifying persistent challenges and opportunities, revisiting the 2021 SDS overarching objective and its related targets. He then shared behavior-over-time graphs for NOI and unrestricted reserves which are showing a much more positive tendency. Membership numbers show a positive trend and dues revenues are up. Several initiatives have been implemented to increase knowledge and skills of SD and more are being planned. The SDR impact factor is now at it's record high and the decision speed has been significantly improved as well. For the target "increase awareness of executives, policy makers, and the public" there are no indicators or straightforward initiatives. Eliot suggested that we might reach more executives if we publicize "what we learn with SD" in op ed or technology review outlets. Sharon suggested that contact lists and access to alum groups might be an efficient access point. Paulo then presented an overview of conference attendance and revenue.

**President Elect**, Shayne Gary, shared that a dashboard will be the starting point for every PC meeting going forward based on the targets shared previously by Paulo. The strategy committee will work on recommending additional metrics for the dashboard. The goals will also help to identify what initiatives should not be pursued. A strategy workshop is being envisioned for early 2022 that will focus on planning the work of the VPs. Saras asked how the coordination between VPs works, Shayne mentioned that conversations with the past VP and the Executive Committee can support this conversation but this has been pretty adhoc, also the strategy workshop should

be able to clarify these types of concerns. Diana remembered that reports can present the history of initiatives by past VPs.

**President**, Paulo Gonçalves, thanked the outgoing officers for their outstanding work: Birgit Kopainsky (Past President), Brad Morrison (Secretary), Jack Homer (VP Professional Practice), Sharon Els, Elke Husemann, Sara Metcalf, Lees Stuntz . He also welcomed the incoming officers: Brad Morrison (President Elect), Lees Stuntz (Secretary), Saras Chung (VP Professional Practice), Jsenson Goh, Juan Pablo Torres, Kawika Pierson, and Timothy Clancy.

**Nominating committee chair**, Birgit Kopainsky, presented the nominating committee members and the nominating process. She then presented the slate of candidates 2023-2025: Allyson Beall King (President Elect), Diana Fisher (VP Pre-College Education), Peter Hovmand (Chapters and SIGs), Jennifer Johnson, Camilo Olaya, Jeroen Struben, and Martin Kunc. Birgit moved to approve the slate of candidates. Motion approved unanimously.

Paulo reminded participants of the next PC meeting date and highlighted that officers can ask to be on the agenda getting in contact with Shayne, Rebecca, or Raquel.

Paulo asked who would like to adjourn the meeting. Birgit moved. Sara seconded. Motion passed.