System Dynamics Society Nominating Committee Report

March 6, 2017

The SDS Nominating Committee consists of:

- Juergen Strohhecker–Ex-officio Chair
- Etienne Rouwette-President 2016
- Len Malczynski–President-Elect 2016
- Sharon Els-8/14-7/17
- Lees Stuntz-8/15-7/18
- David Lane–8/16-7/19

The Nominating Committee is pleased to nominate for consideration by the Policy Council the candidates listed below for Officers and Policy Council Members. All candidates have been approached by the Chair and have agreed to have their name passed forward by the Committee to the Policy Council, and to take office if approved, subject to the Society's established process.

Already accomplished by a separate vote 2017

(see link to information on the candidate)

VP Marketing and Communications (2017-2018, partial term, replacement of Peter Hovmand)— Warren Farr

Motion 164 by Etiënne Rouwette (Pål Davidsen) Y:21/N:0/A:0/NV:3, Voting close date: 2017.02.13

The Proposed (New or Replacement) Candidates to Take Office in 2017

(see links to information on each candidate):

VP Pre-College Education (2017-2019, new position)—<u>Diana Fisher</u>
1 Policy Council Member (2017-2018, partial term, replacement of Diana Fisher)—<u>Lees Stuntz</u>

The Proposed Slate of Candidates to Take Office January 1, 2018

(see links to information on each candidate):

President-Elect, 2018–<u>Martin Schaffernicht</u>
VP Electronic Presence (2018-2020)–<u>Bob Eberlein</u>
VP Membership (2018-2020)–<u>Özge Pala</u>
VP Publications (2018-2020)–<u>Krystyna Stave</u>
4 Policy Council Members (2018-2020)

Shayne Gary Hilde Martinussen Josephine Musango Rafaat Zaini

Information on Nominees

Warren Warr (VP Marketing and Commulcations): CEO at Refrigeration Sales Corp., SDS Policy Council Member (2014-2016), actively involved in the K-12 strategic initiative.

Diana Fisher (VP Pre-College Education): PhD in System Science/Adjunct Professor at Portland State University, Portland, Oregon, SDS Policy Council Member (2016-2018).

Lees Stuntz (Policy Council Member, replacement of replacement of Diana Fisher): Executive Director at Creative Learning Exchange, SDS Policy Council Member (2012-2014).

Martin Schaffernicht (President-Elect): Associate Professor at Universidad de Talca, SDS VP Chapters (2011-2016).

Bob Eberlein (VP Electronic Presence): Co-President, ISEE Systems and consultant. Current SDS VP of Electronic Presence.

Özge Pala (VP Membership): Assistant Professor of Management, College of Administrative Sciences and Economics, Koç University, Istanbul, Turkey. Current SDS VP Membership. Organized SDS PhD Colloquium. Organized European System Dynamics Workshop 2013 in Istanbul.

Krystyna Stave (VP Publications): Associate Professor at University of Nevada Las Vegas, School of Public Policy and Leadership, Member of the SDS Publications Strategy Ad-hoc committee.

Rafaat Zaini, (Policy Council Member #1): Ph.D. in system dynamics and organization studies from Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI). Won the Graduate Innovation Exchange Award for Ph.D. research in social science and business at WPI in 2013 and 2014. President of WPI system dynamics club and the chapter president of Krosslink at Westborough Public Library.

Josephine Musango (Policy Council Member #2): Associate Professor at Stellenbosch University, Founding Members of South Africa System Dynamics Chapter (www.systemdynamics.org.za), currently serving as Organizing Secretary of the Chapter.

Shayne Gary (Policy Council Member #3): Associate professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship at the UNSW Australia Business School, Ph.D. at London Business School and his BSc degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Jay W. Forrester Award 2016.

Hilde Martinussen (Policy Council Member #4): Senior Consultant at Powersim Software.

Notes on the Process Used to Identify and Select Candidates

Nominated officers were identified following a structured process. First, criteria suggested in previous Nominating Committee reports (i.e. Society membership, conference participation, contribution to the field) were critically reviewed, discussed and updated. These criteria included impacts on diversity of age, gender and cultural/geographic origin among the Society's leadership, as well as the person's interest in serving. Second, a broad search for candidates was undertaken including information obtained in previous nominating rounds. In addition, the Diversity Committee has been asked to support the Nominations process by pro-actively making the committee aware of potential candidates from more diverse backgrounds prior to the Annual Conference, so that such individuals can be canvassed and encouraged. Third, thorough discussions were conducted involving all committee members resulting in a ranking whom to ask in which order. While diversity was looked into, the candidates were chosen based on their individual merits, accomplishments, interest, and perceived potential contributions. Fourth, potential candidates were approached, a discussion was conducted and questions were answered. All potential candidates nominated agreed to accept their nomination.

The Chair thanks all of the members of the Committee for their contributions to this important work.

Jürgen Strohhecker Ex officio Chair, Nominating Committee February 2017