DRAFT Agenda for 2017 Winter Policy Council Meeting Thursday, March 16, 2017 11:00 AM Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Massachusetts USA Chair: Len Malczynski, President 2017

Please see the draft agenda below and note action items required.

Schedule

January 12, 2017: Post from President with draft agenda, and call for additions to agenda and call for reports from VPs and Standing Committees

by February 16, 2017: Reports from Standing Committees and VPs to be posted on the Society web portal submission system (including for any Ad-hoc Committees that report to them) and any other reports.

Please submit reports on the PC section of the SDS WebPortal (bullet point lists are fine or longer text if you wish). In addition to the report, please submit a one page PowerPoint slide to be gone over in the public meeting with your photo and a summary organized around the following three points:

- 1. Main events and achievements of 2016
- 2. Main aims for 2017
- 3. Support, cooperation and resources needed as well as potential obstacles/issues.

February 16 – March 15, 2017: Online comment and discussion of reports

March 16, 2017: Face-to-face + online Winter Meeting to discuss open issues, refine and propose Motions.

March 23, 2017: Secretary to post Motions, supporting documents, and Minutes.

March 24 – April 3, 2017: Online discussion of proposed Motions, including any non-binding straw polls on Motions.

April 4 – April 18, 2017: Formal posting of (revised) Motions and final discussion (one week) and voting (one week).

April 19, 2017: Meeting Adjourned. Formal end of meeting (turn system off)

Tentative Agenda

I. 11:00 AM, Opening and Welcome

- A. Welcome to new/continuing members
- B. Thanks to outgoing members
- C. Note Electronic Votes after 2016 Summer PC Meeting to date.
- D. Preview of Discussion Items
- E. Additions to the Agenda
- F. Motions emerging from the Asia-Pacific Conference including its future sites: **Ignacio Martinez and Lakshminarayanan Samavedham**

II. Vice Presidential Reports and other reports – (Reports available online)

- A. Chapter Activities including Capacity Development Fund: VP Stefano Armenia
- B. E-Presence: Robert Eberlein and AVP Onur Özgün
- C. Finance: **David Andersen** and AVP Eliot Rich
- D. Marketing and Communication: Warren Farr
- E. Meetings Overview: Erik Pruyt and AVP Özge Karanfil
 - 1. 2016 Conference Report: **Erik Pruyt**, C. Els van Daalen, Monique van der Toom and Roberta Spencer
 - 2. 2016 Conference Survey Report: Etiënne A.J.A. Rouwette
 - 3. 2017 Conference Report: John Sterman, Nelson Repenning and Roberta Spencer
 - 4. PhD Colloquium: Larry Gottschamer and Laura Black
- F. Membership: Özge Pala and Burak Guneralp
 - 1. Ad hoc committees? (Diversity Committee: **Peter Hovmand**)
- G. Professional Practice: Ken Cooper

- H. Publications Overview: Pål Davidsen
 - 1. Editor of the System Dynamics Review: Yaman Barlas
 - 2. Report from Publisher:
- I. Executive Director: Roberta Spencer

III. Standing Committee Reports – Presentation, Discussion and Announcements

A. Administrative Committee (Transition is a Discussion Item): John Morecroft

B. Awards Committee : **Erling Moxnes** (this includes reports from Award Selection Subcommittees for System Dynamics Applications, Community Service, Dana Meadows and Jay Wright Forrester Awards)

- C. Nominating Committee: Jürgen Strohhecker / Etiënne A.J.A. Rouwette
- D. Organization and Bylaws: Brad Morrison
- E. Society Program Oversight Committee: Andreas Größler
- F. Strategy Committee: Kim Warren

IV. 12:00 PM, Lunch

V. 1:00 PM, Discussion Items

Husemann (partial term 2017 for S. Armenia)

- A. Society / Home Office Transition
 - 1. Moving the Home Office of the System Dynamics Society: John Morecroft
 - 2. Home Office Transition Committee: Eliot Rich
- B. Journal Status: Erin Osborne Martin and Tracy Glass
- C. Site of 2018 Conference: Iceland, Delft, or Where? Erik Pruyt
- D. Site of 2019 (and beyond) Conference: Portland, Oregon; Portland Maine; Wyoming;

Albuquerque, New Mexico; St. Louis, Missouri; or Where? Erik Pruyt

E. Certification / Accreditation: Common Body of Knowledge Len Malczynski, Kim Warren, Etiënne A.J.A. Rouwette

F. Cuban Overture: Len Malczynski

VI. Motions to be voted on electronically (post-meeting)

A. Minutes of the 2016 Summer Policy Council meeting in Delft, Netherlands be accepted as posted on the Society web site

	Policy Council (2016-2018): Sharon Els, Diana Fisher,
President: Leonard Malczynski (2017)	Rebecca Niles, Yutaka Takahashi
President Elect: I. Martinez-Moyano (2017)	Policy Council (2017-2019): John Pastor Ansah, Nancy
Past President: Etiënne A.J.A. Rouwette (2017)	Hayden, Florian Kapmeier, Nuno Videira
Secretary: J. Bradley Morrison (2017-2018)	
Vice President Chapter Activities: Stefano Armenia (2017-	Others (not on the Policy Council) include:
2019)	Executives:
Vice President Electronic Presence: Robert L. Eberlein	System Dynamics Review Executive Editor: Yaman Barlas
(2015-2017)	Executive Director: Roberta L. Spencer
Vice President Finance: David F. Andersen (2017-2019)	
Vice President Marketing & Communications: TBA	Assistant Vice Presidents:
Vice President Meetings: Erik Pruyt (2016-2018)	AVP Chapter Activities: Stefano Armenia
Vice President Membership: Özge Pala (2015-2017)	AVP Electronic Presence: Onur Özgün
	AVP Finance: Eliot Rich
Vice President Professional Practice: Kenneth G. Cooper	AVP Marketing & Communications: Nancy Zoellner
(2016-2018)	AVP Meetings: Özge Karanfil
Vice President Publications: Pål Davidsen (2015-2017)	AVP Membership: Burak Guneralp
	AVP Secretary: Ross Collins
Policy Council (2015-2017): Özge Karanfil, Raafat Zaini	
(partial term 2016-2017 for E. Pruyt), Gönenç Yucel, Elke	

2017 Officers and Members: