October 4, 2017

To: Policy Council Members:

According to Policy 6, Policies of the System Dynamics Society, the President shall ensure any vacancies in Standing Committees are filled, subject to Policy Council approval. The term for Sharon Els as an appointed member of the Nominating Committee expired at the end of July 2017. I respectfully make the motion now, to be voted on electronically.

I have been in conversations with the other members of the Nominating Committee and we have agreed that Shayne Gary from the University of New South Wales would be an excellent member for the upcoming staggered three-year term of the Nominating Committee for the August 2017 to July 2020 appointment. I also spoke with Shayne and he is prepared and willing to serve.

Formal Motion: Approve the appointment of Shayne Gary to the Nominating Committee for the term of 8/2017 - 7/2020.

Policy 7. Nominations and Elections states in part that "The size of the Nominating Committee shall be six members. Three members shall be the Past President (Chair), the President, and the President-Elect; the other three members shall be appointed for staggered three-year terms."

Proposed Committee (Starts August 1, 2017) for Slate 2019:

Etienne Rouwette (Immediate Past President 2017) Chair; term: 8/17 - 7/18

Len Malczynski (President 2017)

Ignacio Martínez-Moyano (President Elect 2017)

Lees Stuntz (8/2015 - 7/2018)

David Lane 8/2016 - 7/2019

Shayne Gary (8/2017 - 7/2020)

Discussion by all is, of course, encouraged and appreciated on the Policy Council Mailing List; voting members are listed below. DISCUSSION WILL LAST FOR TWO WEEKS. Please login to send comments, questions and discussion items to the Policy Council Mailing List at:

pc-list@systemdynamics.org.

2017 Officers and Policy Council Members

President: Leonard Malczynski (2017)
President Elect: I. Martinez-Moyano (2017)

Past President: Etiënne A.J.A. Rouwette (2017) Secretary: J. Bradley Morrison (2017-2018)

Vice President Chapter Activities: Stefano Armenia (2017-2019) Vice President Electronic Presence: Robert L. Eberlein (2015-2017)

Vice President Finance: David F. Andersen (2017-2019)

Vice President Marketing & Communications: Warren Farr (2017-2018 partial term)

Vice President Meetings: Erik Pruyt (2016-2018) Vice President Membership: Özge Pala (2015-2017)

Vice President Pre-College Education: Diana Fisher (2017-2019)
Vice President Professional Practice: Kenneth G. Cooper (2016-2018)

Vice President Publications: Pål Davidsen (2015-2017)

Policy Council (2015-2017): Özge Karanfil, Raafat Zaini (partial term 2016-2017 for E. Pruyt), Gönenç Yucel, Elke Husemann

(partial term 2017 for S. Armenia)

Policy Council (2016-2018): Sharon Els, Rebecca Niles, Lees Stuntz (partial term for D. Fisher) and Yutaka Takahashi

Policy Council (2017-2019): John Pastor Ansah, Nancy Hayden, Florian Kapmeier, Nuno Videira

Regards,

Len Malczynski, President 2017