DRAFT Agenda for 2016 Winter Policy Council Meeting (face-to-face session) Tuesday, February 23, 2016 11:00 AM

Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Massachusetts USA Chair: Etiënne A.J.A. Rouwette, President 2016

Please see the draft agenda below and note action items required.

Schedule

January 7, 2016: Post from President with draft agenda, and call for additions to agenda and call for reports from VPs and Standing Committees

by January 25, 2016: Reports from Standing Committees and VPs to be posted on the Society web portal submission system (including for any Ad-hoc Committees that report to them) and any other reports.

Please submit reports with 3 sections (bullet point lists are fine or longer text if you wish):

- 1. Main events and achievements of 2015
- 2. Main aims for 2016
- 3. Support, cooperation and resources needed as well as potential obstacles/issues.

January 26 - February 22, 2016: Online comment and discussion of reports

February 23, 2016: Face-to-face + online Winter Meeting to discuss open issues, refine and propose Motions.

March 1, 2016: Secretary to post Motions, supporting documents, and Minutes.

March 2 - March 12, 2016: Online discussion of proposed Motions, including any non-binding straw polls on Motions.

March 13- March 26, 2016: Formal posting of (revised) Motions and final discussion (one week) and voting (one week).

March 27, 2016: Meeting Adjourned. Formal end of meeting (turn system off)

Tentative Agenda

I) 11:00 Opening and Welcome

- A. Welcome to new/continuing members
- B. Thanks to outgoing members
- C. Note Electronic Votes after 2015 Summer PC Meeting to date.
- D. Meeting Orientation
- E. Additions to the Agenda

II) Vice Presidential Reports and other reports – (Reports available online)

- A. Chapter Activities: Martin Schaffernicht and AVP Stefano Armenia
 - 1) Ad hoc Committee: Capacity Development Fund
- B. E-Presence: Robert Eberlein and AVP Onur Özgün
- C. Finance: David Andersen and AVP Eliot Rich
- D. Marketing and Communication: Peter Hovmand
- E. Meetings: Erik Pruyt and AVP Özge Karanfil
 - 1) 2015 Cambridge Conference Report: Karim Chichakly, Khalid Saeed and Roberta Spencer
 - (a) Conference Survey Report: Etiënne Rouwette
 - 2) 2016 Conference Report: Erik Pruyt, C. Els van Daalen, Monique van der Toom and Roberta Spencer
 - 3) 2017 Conference Report: John Sterman, Nelson Repenning and Roberta Spencer
 - 4) 2018 and beyond Conference Report: Erik Pruyt
 - 5) Ad hoc Committees?

- (a) Conference Scholarship: Bob Eberlein
- (b) PhD Colloquium: Ed Anderson, Laura Black
- 6) Asia Pacific Conference every two years
- F. Membership: Özge Pala and Burak Guneralp
 - 1) Ad hoc committees? (Diversity Committee: Peter Hovmand)
- G. Professional Practice: Ken Cooper
- H. Publications: Pål Davidsen
 - 1) Editor of the System Dynamics Review:
 - (a) Rogelio Oliva for 2015
 - (b) Yaman Barlas for 2016
- 2) Report from Publisher: Edel Heslin
- I. Executive Director: Roberta Spencer

III) Standing Committee Reports – Presentation, Discussion and Announcements

- A. Administrative Committee: John Morecroft
- B. Awards Committee: Erling Moxnes (this includes reports from Award Selection Subcommittees for System Dynamics Applications, Community Service, Dana Meadows and Jay Wright Forrester Awards)
- C. Nominating Committee: Ed Anderson / Jürgen Strohhecker
- D. Organization and Bylaws: Brad Morrison
 - (1) Bylaws Changes
- E. Publications: Pål Davidsen, included with VP Publications Report
- F. Society Program Oversight Committee: Andreas Größler
 - 1) ISDC Program Guidelines: status of updates (vote if substantial changes)
- G. Strategy Committee: Etiënne Rouwette
- H. Summary and Review of VP and Committee Reports (Etiënne Rouwette)
 - 1) Review of 2015 Achievements
 - 2) Aims for 2016
 - 3) Resources, support, and collaboration needs as well as potential obstacles/issues.

IV) Discussion Items

V) Motions to be voted on electronically (post-meeting)

A. Minutes of the 2015 Summer Policy Council meeting in Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA be accepted as posted on the Society web site

2016 Officers and Members:

President: Etiënne A.J.A. Rouwette (2016) President Elect: Leonard Malczynski (2016) Past President: Jürgen Strohhecker (2016) Founding President: Jay W. Forrester Secretary: J. Bradley Morrison (2015-2016)

Vice President Chapter Activities: Martin Schaffernicht

(2014-2016)

Vice President Electronic Presence: Robert L. Eberlein

(2015-2017)

Vice President Finance: David F. Andersen (2014-2016) Vice President Marketing & Communications: Peter

Hovmand (2016-2018)

Vice President Meetings: Erik Pruyt (2016-2018) Vice President Membership: Özge Pala (2015-2017) Vice President Professional Practice: Kenneth G. Cooper

(2016-2018)

Vice President Publications: Pål Davidsen (2015-2017)

Policy Council:

(2014-2016): Jim Duggan, Warren Farr, Elke Husemann,

David Wheat

(2015-2017): Stefano Armenia, Özge Karanfil, Gönenç Yucel,

Raafat Zaini (partial term, 2016-2017)

(2016-2018): Sharon Els, Diana Fisher, Rebecca Niles,

Yutaka Takahashi

Others (not on the Policy Council) include:

Executives:

System Dynamics Review Executive Editor: Yaman Barlas

Executive Director: Roberta L. Spencer

Assistant Vice Presidents:

AVP Chapter Activities: Stefano Armenia **AVP Electronic Presence:** Onur Özgün

AVP Finance: Eliot Rich AVP Meetings: Özge Karanfil AVP Secretary: Ross Collins AVP Membership: Burak Guneralp