Report to Winter Policy Council meeting 2015 from Awards committee

From: Erling Moxnes, committee chair.

1. Main events and achievements of 2014

First a great thank you to Khalid who has served this committee so well for many years! And, a welcome to Brad who fills the vacancy.

We were asked by President Ed to stagger terms for all award committees. Taking that request as a must, I ended up suggesting staggered terms for all award subcommittees (after questions with no answers or a certain unwillingness to stagger). The result can be seen on the Society homepage at http://www.systemdynamics.org/governance/award-selection-subcommittees/

Similar to the DMA committee, the JWFA committee ended up with repeat terms for two members. To follow the pattern from the DMA committee for the JWFA committee, the terms for Saeed and Moxnes should show respectively 2015 and 2015-2016 before the repeat terms.

The DMA committee wanted our approval of Özge Pala as a replacement for John Morecroft who steps down. Özge is an excellent candidate.

The UK chapter wanted to establish a Geoff Coyle Medal for "innovative work in system dynamics", maybe widened to "significant contributions involving system dynamics". Since the SD Society is not involved in funding such a prize, the Awards Committee see the medal as falling entirely in the category of Chapter prizes. Hence, we had no objections to establishing the Medal, and only requested that the statutes for the award be sent to the Awards Committee for approval.

2. Main aims for 2015

No particular aims

3. Support, cooperation and resources needed as well as potential obstacles/issues.

None at the moment