Agenda for Policy Council Meeting Summer 2015

Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA. July 19, 2015 🔶 Chair: Jürgen Strohhecker, President 2015

Lunch with PhD Colloquium Participants: 12:30 to 1:30 PM (Charles View Ballroom)

1) Welcome and Introductions

- a) Welcome 2015 new members, thanks to outgoing members and continuing members
- b) Call for Additions to the Agenda or Announcements

2) Opening and overview of electronic session

a) Review electronic votes between the end of February 2015 Winter PC Meeting and the beginning of the July 2015 Summer PC Meeting

3) Vice Presidential reports and updates

(Since most reports moved forward to the Winter meeting, reflecting progress in 2014 and aims for 2015, the only full reports required are from VP Finance. However, certain matters are on-going and VPs are welcome to raise important additional issues.)

- a) Finance: David Andersen and AVP Eliot Rich
- b) Marketing and Communication: Peter Hovmand
 - i) Appointment of AVPs: Nancy Zoellner, Andrew Frangos, Jenny Zhou, David Loundsbury and Elise Axelrad
- c) Professional Practice: Ken Cooper (and AVP TBA)
- d) Publications: Pål Davidsen (and AVP TBA)i) Report from Publisher: Victoria White for Graham Russel
- e) Chapters: Martin Schaffernicht and AVP Stefano Armenia
 i) includes ad hoc Field Development Committee
- f) Electronic Presence: Bob Eberlein and AVP Onur Özgün
- g) Meetings: Leonard Malczynski and AVP Ozge Karanfil
 - i) includes ad hoc Conference Scholarship Committee: Bob Eberlein
 - ii) Report on Asia-Pacific Conference 2016
- h) Membership: Özge Pala (and AVP TBA)i) includes ad hoc Diversity Committee Report, Peter Hovmand
- i) Executive Director: Roberta Spencer

4) Standing Committee Reports

(These reports also were moved to the Winter meeting. Subsequent issues only to be reported, though other items may also be raised.)

- a) Administrative Committee: John Morecroft
- b) Awards Committee: Erling Moxnes
- c) Nominating Committee: Chair Kim Warren to 7/31/15; Chair Ed Anderson starts on 8/1/15
 - i) Present the Nominating Committee for the 2017 Slate and Announce PC Open Positions:

Committee (Starts August 1, 2015) for Slate 2017:

Ed Anderson (Immediate Past President 2015) Chair; term: 8/15 - 7/16 Juergen Strohhecker (President 2015) Etienne Rouwette (President Elect 2015) David Lane (8/2013 - 7/2016) Sharon Els (8/2014 - 7/2017) Lees Stuntz (8/2015 - 7/2018) **PC Open Positions**, 2017-2019 Term President Elect: XXXX (2017) Vice President Chapter Activities: XXXX (2017-2019) Vice President Finance: XXXX (2017-2019) Secretary: XXXX (2017-2019) Policy Council (2017-2019): 4 PC Members

- d) Organization and Bylaws Committee: Brad Morrison
- e) Publications Committee: Pål I. Davidsen
- f) Society Program Oversight Committee: Len Malczynski
- g) Strategy Committee: Jürgen Strohhecker

5) Motions/Action Items

- a) Approval of Minutes of Winter 2015 Policy Council Meeting
- b) Approval of Standing Committee Members appointed by the President
 - Nominations Committee: Lees Stuntz (already accomplished)
 - Administrative Committee: (Bob Eberlein has agreed) 2016-2018
 - To be Determined at the conference
 - i. Awards Committee: (replacement for Erling Moxnes and David Lane) 2016-2018
 - ii. Organization and Bylaws Committee: (replacement for Bob Eberlein) 2016-2018
 - iii. Society Program Oversight Committee: (replacement for Len Malczynski and Pal Davidsen) 2016-2018
 - iv. Publications Committee: (replacement for Susan Howick) 2016-2018
 - v. Strategy Committee: (replacement for Jim Lyneis) 2016-2018
- c) Approval of the Slate of Candidates to take office on January 1, 2016.

2016 Officers and Policy Council

President Elect: Len Malczynski (2016) Past President: Jürgen Strohhecker (2016) Secretary: Brad Morrison (2016-2017) Vice President Meetings: Erik Pruyt (2016-2018) Policy Council (2016-2018): Sharon Els, Diana Fisher, Rebecca Niles, Yutaka Takahashi Vice President Meetings: Erik Pruyt (2016-2018) Vice President Marketing: Peter Hovmand (2016-2018) Vice President Practice: Ken Cooper (2016-2018) President: Etiënne Rouwette (2016) Founding President: Jay W. Forrester Vice President Electronic Presence: Bob Eberlein (2015-2017) Vice President Membership: Özge Pala (2015-2017) Vice President Publications: Pål Davidsen (2015-2017) Vice President Chapter Activities: Martin Schaffernicht (2014-2016) Vice President Finance: David Andersen (2014-2016) Policy Council (2015-2017): Stefano Armenia, Özge Karanfil, Erik Pruyt, Gönenç Yücel Policy Council (2014-2016): Jim Duggan, Warren Farr, Elke Husemann, David Wheat

6) Strategic discussion: Jürgen Strohhecker

- a) Publications Strategy: Pål Davidsen and David Ford and David
- b) K-12 Strategy: Warren Farr
- c) Guidelines for Partnering with Potentially Affiliated Organizations: Peter Hovmand

7) Any Other Business

- a) Certification Ad hoc Committee appointed by Ed Anderson, President to research creation of a certification program. This ad hoc committee will transfer to the Past President on January 1, 2015. The committee was charged to report at the 2015 Winter Policy Council Meeting.
- b) Remove the Founding President (at his request) as a voting member of the Policy Council and change his title to Honorary Founding President.

- c) Discussion to reform Bylaws to separate PC President and CEO role and formalize the CEO role as an employee of the Society. Required to be complete by January 2016 due to a provision of the New York Nonprofit Revitalization Act of 2013 preventing the chair or president (of the board) to also act as the CEO.
- d) Discuss recommended reform based on best practices (from Board Effectiveness Assessment Report)
- e) Change name of the award selection subcommittee "Community Service Award Committee" to match award name of "Outstanding Service Award."