2012 Winter Policy Council Meeting DRAFT Schedule and Agenda December 19, 2011 (version 2)

(First Electronic Session, Face-to-Face Meeting and Second Electronic Session) Chair: David N. Ford, President 2012

First Electronic Session (Now through January 4, 2012)

I) Opening (pre face-to-face meeting)

A. Overview

- 1. Note electronic votes after 2011 Summer PC Meeting to date. Full details are available on the PC Menu
 - a) Temporary Appointment of PC Member due to vacancy
 - b) Nominations to fill out the Publications Committee
- 2. Tentative Schedule:

Now until January 4: Call for additions to the agenda, discussion of reports, online comments or other announcements

December 22, 2011: Reports available on the PC Menu

January 5, 2012: Face-to-Face Meeting (Cambridge, MA area)

January 6: Strategic Planning Day (Cambridge, MA area)

January 12: Minutes and motions posted on PC Menu

January 13 – February 3: Online discussion of proposed motions

February 4 – February 19, 2012: Final discussion (one week) and voting (one week).

February 20, 2012: Meeting Adjourned

Note: All updates/reports from VPs and Committees are due December 22.

II) Vice Presidential Reports – Electronic Presentation, Discussion and Announcements

Please keep summaries and questions brief. During the opening session, please restrict questions to clarification only; Substantive discussion should be placed in the appropriate thread for the post face-to-face meeting electronic session, or a new discussion item requested for that session.

- A. Chapter Activities: Martin Schaffernicht
- B. E-Presence: Robert Eberlein
- C. Finance: David Andersen and AVP Ik Jae Chung
- D. Meetings: Andreas Größler and AVP Enzo Bivona
 - 1. 2011 Conference Report: Roberta Spencer
 - a) Conference Survey Report: Etienne Rouwette
 - 2. 2012 Swiss Conference Report: Stefan Groesser and Markus Schwanginger
 - 3. 2013 Cambridge Conference Report: Roberta Spencer
 - 4. 2014 and beyond Conference Report: Andreas Größler
- E. Member Services: Etienne Rouwette and AVP Agata Sawicka
- F. Publications: George Richardson
 - 1. Editor of the System Dynamics Review: Brian Dangerfield

G. Executive Director: Roberta Spencer

III) Committee Reports - Electronic Presentation, Discussion and Announcements

Please keep summaries and questions brief. During the opening session, please restrict questions to clarification only; Substantive discussion should be placed in the appropriate thread for the post face-to-face meeting electronic session, or a new discussion item requested for that session.

A. Standing Committees

- 1. Administrative Committee: Bob Eberlein
- 2. Awards Committee: Khalid Saeed
 - a) Forrester Award (Ad Hoc): Jack Homer
 - b) Dana Meadows Award (Ad Hoc): Joel Rahn
 - c) Applications Award (Ad Hoc): Jim Lyneis
 - d) Community Service Award (Ad Hoc): David Lane
 - e) Other Outside Awards: Khalid Saeed
- 3. Nominating Committee: Rogelio Oliva
- 4. Organization and Bylaws: Brad Morrison
- 5. Publications: George Richardson
- 6. Strategy Committee: David Lane
- B. Ad Hoc Committees
 - 1. Conference Selection Committee: Andreas Groessler
 - 2. Conference Scholarship Committee: Bob Eberlein
 - 3. Diversity Committee: Peter Hovmand
 - 4. Education, Outreach and Public Understanding Committee (EOPU): Lees Stuntz
 - 5. Society Program Oversight Committee: Rogelio Oliva
 - 6. Society Investment Committee: Roberta Spencer and David Andersen
 - 7. Committee on The Organization of the System Dynamics Society: Bob Cavana
 - 8. Strengthening the Field Committee (SFC), aka Chapter Development Fund Proposal Committee: David Lane

IV) Call for additions to agenda for discussion at Face-to-face meeting and second electronic session.

The following items have been proposed for discussion in the face-to-face meeting and second electronic session, running from January 13 to February 19. A brief description of the issue and any preliminary supporting materials will be posted on the PC Menu and/or in the SDS-PC Listserv. Members are invited to post additional comments and materials on any of these issues during the first electronic session. However, the main discussion of these items will occur in the second electronic session. If you have other items for discussion or announcements, please email them to David Ford davidford@tamu.edu with a copy to Roberta at office@systemdynamics.org.

- A. Any administrative issues identified by the Administrative Committee.
- B. European Default Conference Site Selection report by VP Meetings, Andreas
- C. How do we manage Ad hoc committees membership and activities
- D. Membership renewal issues including: rolling membership vs calendar year, automatic renewal, appropriateness and effectiveness of tiered dues structure.
- E. SDS Strategy Team structure and process, roles and responsibilities

- F. Presidential agenda: VP Roles discussion
- G. Chapter Development Fund proposals and use
- H. EOPU Committee Structure
- I. Guidelines on how to make a motion

Face-to-Face Meeting: January 5, 2012

An updated agenda for the face-to-face meeting will be available at the meeting; it will closely follow the above outline. Relevant materials will be assembled and reviewed, issues discussed, and alternatives proposed. These materials and discussion will then be summarized and posted to the web system for review, discussion, and voting where required by the entire Policy Council.

Second Electronic Session: January 13 – February 19, 2012 (these dates may be extended if needed)

This electronic discussion period allocates time for "conversation" similar to the exchange of ideas during a meeting. It allows for reflection and a simple way to converge on a correct motion before it becomes a "formal" motion that will be put to a proper vote. Motions can be amended (friendly amendment) providing there are no objections. Motions can be withdrawn if agreed by both proposer and seconder, also providing there are no objections, it would be as if the motion was never made.

- V) Detailed Agenda for this session and face-to-face meeting minutes and will be posted after the face-to-face meeting which will include preliminary and final discussions, motions' revisions and voting.
 - A. Partial list of proposed motions expected to be voted on electronically February 12 February 19, 2012
 - 1. Minutes of the 2011 Summer Policy Council meeting in Washington, DC be accepted as posted on the Society web site.
 - 2. Motion that the Policy Council accepts the Slate of Candidates for positions as included in the Nominating Committee's report.
 - 3. Motion to approve the updated list of committee memberships and terms for Bylaws Committee and Strategic Development Committee.
 - 4. Resulting additional Motions

VI) Motion to Adjourn Winter E-Meeting (Formal end of meeting February 20, 2012)

Sincerely, David N. Ford, President 2012 davidford@tamu.edu

2012 Officers and Members: President: David Ford (2012)

President Elect: Kim Warren (2012) Past President: David Lane (2012) Founding President: Jay W. Forrester **Secretary:** J. Bradley Morrison (2011-2012)

Vice President Chapter Activities: Martin Schaffernicht (2011-2013) Vice President Electronic Presence: Robert L. Eberlein (2012-2014)

Vice President Finance: David F. Andersen (2011-2013) Vice President Meetings: Andreas Größler (2010-2012)

Vice President Member Services: Etiënne A.J.A. Rouwette (2012-2014)

Vice President Publications: George P. Richardson (2012-2014) System Dynamics Review Executive Editor: Rogelio Oliva

Executive Director: Roberta L. Spencer

Policy Council (2010-2012): Laura Black, Ignacio Martínez-Moyano, Burcu Tan (11-12 partial

term), Florian Kapmier (12 partial term)

Policy Council (2011-2013): Allyson Beall, Peter Hovmand, Len Malczynski, Markus

Schwaninger

Policy Council (2012-2014): Rod MacDonald, Silvia Ulli-Beer, Lees Stuntz, Nicole Zimmermann