Community Service Award Committee Report, July 2012

1. Purpose of Committee

To designate award winners as appropriate for awards for exceptional service.

2. Terms of Reference

Further information from the Society website is available in Appendix I. In his capacity as Chair of the over-arching Awards Committee, Khalid Saeed has suggested the ToR in Appendix II. These are in line with the committee's practices this year. I recommend their formal adoption.

3. Current Membership

Past President (Chair) (David Lane) Executive Director (Roberta Spencer) Andy Ford (long term member) Bob Eberlein (long term member)

4. Terms

The two Ex officio members of the community service awards committee serve during their respective office tenures. Khalid Saeed has suggested that the remaining members should have fixed terms, in line with Society practice and general principles of good governance. He has suggested the terms shown below. (As Chair, I support this.)

Bob Eberlein - 2011-2016 Andy - 2012-2017

5. Modus Operandi on 'Non-disclosure'

As indicated in the draft T&R, custom and practice has been that this award is presented to the recipient without prior notification. The committee embraces a range of views on 'nondisclosure', one view valuing the element of surprise, the other embodying concern that the recipient may not feel able to respond on the spot in a manner they feel adequate to the honour.

It is relevant that whilst the committee chair makes an award speech, only a brief note of thanks is expected of the recipient. Khalid has observed, "if we want to assure that the recipient is present at the award ceremony, we might need to tell him/her beforehand with the request to keep it secret as we do in case of other awards that also require a presentation ... The community service award committee can of course develop its own tradition about disclosure." In line with the majority view of the committee, this year's recipient has not been told about the award. The PC may wish to comment on the non-disclosure issue.

6. Activities

The committee deliberated and a Community Service Award for 2012 will be presented in St. Gallen on July 24th.

- David Lane, Chair

APPENDIX I: Current Information on Community Service Award Committee

Summer 2008 - Motion to Form Community Service Awards Panel and Approval of Membership (Serving President as Ex-officio Chair; Bob Eberlein; Jack Pugh; Executive Director)

The Awards Committee (established in the Winter Meeting as an umbrella committee to oversee awards committees) has requested that a Community Service Award Committee be formed to designate award winners as appropriate for awards for exceptional service, such as the Lifetime Service Award. The Committee is charged with determining which awards, regular or special, are appropriate for community service, and determining who should receive them. Jack Pugh and Bob Eberlein have received the Lifetime Service Recognition Award and the Executive Director has the most visibility of service. These awards will not involve any money. It was moved by Bob Eberlein and seconded by Erling Moxnes to form such a committee, the Serving President (chair), Bob Eberlein, Jack Pugh and the Executive Director to constitute the committee. Motion passed. [link to the motion]

2009 Winter Meeting of the Policy Council

Motion by Bob Eberlein, seconded by Erling Moxnes that a Community Service Awards Committee be established. It will consist of the Past President ex-officio (Chair), the Executive Director, Jack Pugh and Bob Eberlein.

[Link to the motion]

Jack Pugh and Bob Eberlein have received the Lifetime Service Recognition Award and the Executive Director has the most visibility of service. The Committee is charged with determining which awards, regular or special, are appropriate for community service, and determining who should receive them. These awards will not involve any money.

APPENDIX II: Proposed ToR for Community Service Award Committee

The <u>System Dynamics Society Outstanding Service Award</u> recognizes individuals that have, on a volunteer basis, made significant contributions to the Society over an extended period of time. The Society has a long and proud tradition of volunteer service and Julie Pugh, who volunteered as the first Executive Director, has inspired this award. Even after establishing a central office with a paid professional staff in 1996, the growth and development of the Society has been heavily dependent on the work of volunteers. To acknowledge this work, emphasize its importance in achieving Society goals, and highlight efforts that can inspire others, this service award was established in 2009. It is awarded as often as once per year during the annual conference.

In cases where the recipient is not attending the conference the presentation may be deferred to the following conference. In this case two awards may be presented at one conference. If the recipient is not able to attend either conference the award may be announced at one of the conferences and presented privately.

The Community Services Award Committee will select individuals who have:

- Made a significant contribution to the Society in a way that benefits the development and advancement of system dynamics.
- Exhibited the highest standards of service excellence, dedication, and accomplishment over a sustained period of time.
- ✤ Taken initiative to move the Society forward.
- Created positive results for Society members and the larger community of people interested in system dynamics.
- Fostered a culture of service and responsibility and set a standard to inspire others.

What they will receive:

During the announcement a personalized plaque will be presented with a very brief recitation of achievement. The award will also be announced in a System Dynamics Newsletter after the conference. Award recipients