JWF Award Committee Report, July 2012

- 1. The JWF Award for 2012 will be presented in St. Gallen on July 24th.
- 2. It is our understanding that the award for Lifetime Achievement may normally be given only in a year when the JWF Award is not given. The reasoning for not giving both awards in a single year may have to do with plenary session time available, or perhaps so as not to dilute the significance of either award. Also note that the Lifetime Achievement award has so far been given only to more senior people who have not won the JWF award (Geoff Coyle, Diana Fisher). In the deliberations of the committee this year, we identified at least three such deserving senior individuals, and some concern was expressed that with the rules as they are we may never get around to giving those individuals an award, if in most years a JWF award is given. The committee would appreciate PC guidance on this question.
- 3. It was decided last year that the committee chair would become a one-year position, rotating among the committee members, and changing at the annual conference. The Chair for 2011-2012 has been Jack Homer. The Chair for 2012-2013 will be decided when the committee meets in St. Gallen on July 23rd.
- 4. At the PC's urging, we have established staggered terms of service for the five person committee, with the possibility of term renewal if desired. The terms were set based on length of service to date. For the current committee members, these terms are as follows:

John Sterman through 2012, renewable to 2017 Peter Milling through 2013, renewable to 2018 Jack Homer through 2014, renewable to 2019 Khalid Saeed through 2015, renewable to 2020 Erling Moxnes through 2016, renewable to 2021.

This completes the report from the JWF Award Committee for 2012. - Jack Homer, Chair