Awards Committee Report June 2012

- 1. The last meeting of the Awards Committee was held on July 2011. No new issues have been deliberated. Following report deals with the disposal of the agenda from the last meeting.
- 2. The committee made recommendations to PC on fixing terms of the ad hoc awards committees and regularization of the Lifetime Achievement Award. The first recommendation was voted and approved. The ad hoc Award Committee chairs have been requested to prepare a staggered roster of member terms.
- 3. Khalid Saeed was asked to gather an ad hoc panel to develop an appropriate resolution on LTA. In response to this request, A panel consisting of K Saeed, J Lyneis and P Milling has submitted the following motion to the president for vetting at the summer meeting:

Motion for Formalization of Lifetime Achievement Award

The Policy Council hereby formally recognizes the Lifetime Achievement Award as an official award of the System Dynamics Society, and directs the Jay W. Forrester Award Committee to manage evaluations and granting of the award. The criteria for this award are:

1. The Lifetime Achievement Award honors the substantial contribution of an individual to the development or application of the field of System Dynamics during his/her career.

2. The award is to be given to a person who, despite this contribution, did not receive the Jay W. Forrester Award.

3. The award is to be given towards the end of the person's professional career.

4. In a particular year, the Lifetime Achievement Award is to be given in lieu of the Jay W. Forrester Award. (Although the committee need not give either award in a given year.)

4. Current membership of Awards Committee is as follows:

David Lane	2010-2012
Erling Moxnes	2010-2012
Khalid Saeed (Chair)	2011-2013
Jac Vennix	2011-2013
Mark Paich	2012-2014
Krystyna Stave	2012-2014

David Lane and Erling Moxnes will be concluding their current terms in 2012. PC is requested to name replacements.

Respectfully submitted.

Khalid Saeed Chair, Awards Committee May 27, 2012