## Proposed Slate of Candidates to take office January 1, 2012

The Nominating Committee is pleased to nominate the following slate of candidates for Officers and Policy Council members to take office January 1, 2012.

## President-Elect: Kim Warren

**VP Electronic Presence**: Bob Eberlein (re-appointment 2012-2014)

**VP Member Services**: Etienne Rouwette (re-appointment 2012-2014)

**VP Publications**: George P. Richardson (re-appointment 2012-2014)

We also note/suggest that PC member Martin Schaffernicht will continue as VP Chapters (2012 - 2013) and requires a replacement in the PC. Hence we list five candidates for the PC, where we suggest that that the fifth on the list replaces Martin.

PC 1: MacDonald, Rod PC 2: Ulli-Beer, Silvia PC 3: Stuntz, Lees PC 4: Zimmermann, Nicole PC 5: Tan, Burcu

The committee received an expression of interest in being a member of the Policy Council from 1 member of the Society along with the candidates we had from 2009. After discussions and Borda Count voting we believe that the slate we have nominated represents a well qualified and diverse set of candidates. Bios for the new candidates are given below, along with an indication of the diversity of the Policy Council.

## **Biographies of the Slate of Candidates:**

**Kim Warren**, PhD London Business School, Teaching Fellow London Business School, Chairman Strategy Dynamics Ltd, and current member of the PC council. He bridges the gap between academia and consulting. Kim has received the Jay W. Forrester Award and has written a number of articles and books about management and dynamics. He has showed willingness to put in effort for the Society, in particular he made a great effort working on strategy for the Society. In this work he stressed the importance of implementing initiatives to stimulate quality of SD work and to make SD better known.

**Rod MacDonald**. PhD from Albany. Very active supporter of the operations in the home office and involved in research projects with the Albany group.

Silvia Ulli-Beer, Dr. in economics, working at the Paul Scherrer Institute in Switzerland. Thread chair for energy for the SD conference.

**Lees Stuntz**, Executive Director for the Creative Learning Exchange. Her perspectives on networking and education should be valuable for the PC.

**Nicole Zimmermann**, PhD Mannheim, visited Albany and authored various articles, has worked on a number of Society activities.

**BurcuTan**, professor at Tulane, PhD University of Texas, degree from Bosporus University, published in the SDR as well as a regular presenter at ISDC. She has been instrumental in organizing the SD Winter Camp with Ed Anderson for the past two iterations.

## Characteristics of the Slate of Candidates:

Given below is a summary of the characteristics of the 2011 and proposed 2012 Policy Council and Officers along a number of diversity dimensions: location, profession, training, and gender. Location and profession are a bit difficult because several members were born/raised/trained in one region but now work in a different region and some members are both academics and consultants.

As you can see, with the exception of a reduction in LA and Asia/Pacific representation, the diversity of the Council with the proposed slate has remained relatively unchanged from 2011. We believe that this reflects a reasonable balance considering the membership of the Society.

|            |              | 2012 | 2011 |
|------------|--------------|------|------|
| Location   | NA           | 63 % | 48 % |
|            | Europe       | 33 % | 36 % |
|            | Asia/Pacific | 0 %  | 4 %  |
|            | LA           | 4 %  | 12 % |
|            | Africa       | 0 %  | 0 %  |
| Profession | Academic     | 80 % | 76 % |
|            | Consultant   | 8 %  | 12 % |
|            | Industry     | 12 % | 12 % |
|            | Student      | 0 %  | 0 %  |
| Training   | МІТ          | 25 % | 28 % |
| -          | Non-MIT      | 75 % | 72 % |
| Gender     | М            | 75 % | 76 % |
|            | F            | 25 % | 24 % |

Respectfully Submitted by the Nominating Committee:

Erling Moxnes, chair Rogelio Oliva David Lane Yaman Barlas Birgit Kopainsky Edward Anderson