SDS Awards Committee Report, Jan 2009

The SDS Awards Committee was created in 2008 to oversee the Society awards process. The committee conducted extensive deliberations via internet and also had a face to face meeting at the Athens conference. The committee has developed a blackboard site resident at WPI for sharing documents and comments, although its communications have to date been mostly conducted through email.

The committee has developed general guidelines for the society awards, which have been posted on the society site. It also recommended formation of a panel for recognizing community service, which was approved by the policy council and is currently functioning. The committee in addition has advised the executive director and the various awards committees on various aspects of awards administration on an ad hoc basis whenever a need arose.

Specific award committee reports prepared by the respective chairs are summarized below:

Jay Forrester Awards Committee

The Forrester award committee consists of five members who must all be previous winners of the Forrester Award. Members normally serve a 5-year term. New members are proposed by the Chair and confirmed by the Committee. Khalid Saeed was selected to replace John Morecroft, whose term ended in 2008. The Committee would like to thank John for all his efforts and good work over many years. The current committee consists of Jack Homer, Peter Milling, Khalid Saeed, John Sterman, Jac Vennix (Chair). Jac Vennix will complete his term as chair and as member of the committee at the end of 2009. The committee will enlist a new member and a new chair before that event.

The winners of the 2008 Forrester Award were Kimberly Thompson and Radboud Duintjer Tebbens for their paper in the Lancet of April 2007: "Eradication versus control for poliomyelitis: an economic analysis".

Dana Meadows Award Committee

The committee enlisted Richard Dudley in March 2008 to replace Bob Cavana who opted to step down. The committee would like to thank Bob for his service and valuable contributions to its work. As of 2008, all new members are expected to serve for a period 5 years, renewable at the discretion of the Committee. Minor changes to the Award's web page were made for the 2008 competition.

The Dana Meadows Award winner for 2008 was Antuela A. Tako for "Model building in System Dynamics and Discrete-event Simulation: a quantitative comparison". The honorable mentions were Navid Ghaffarzadegan for "Effect of Conditional Feedback on Learning" and Hyunjung Kim for "Broadening boundary perception in a multi-organizational context: Study of a community mental health program in New York State".

Applications Award Committee

The Society Applications Award was not issued in 2008 as it is a biannual award. The first award was given in 2007 to Vince Barabba, Chet Huber, Fred Cooke, Nick Pudar, Jim Smith, and Mark Paich for their report:

A Multimethod Approach for Creating New Business Models: The General Motors OnStar Project.

The Society Applications Award will be offered again in 2009. Announcements inviting submissions have been made via the list serve, newsletter, and SD Review. The committee chair, Jim Lyneis, will also be directly contacting potential contestants for submitting entries. Please contact Jim if you know of someone who should be invited to submit an entry.

Community Service Award Committee

At the July 2009 Policy Council Meeting in Athens, the Community Service Awards Committee was established. It consists of the President Elect ex-officio (Chair), the Executive Director, Jack Pugh and Bob Eberlein. Jack Pugh and Bob Eberlein have received the Lifetime Service Recognition Award and the Executive Director has the most visibility of service. The Committee is charged with determining which awards, regular or special, are appropriate for community service, and determining who should receive them. These awards will not involve any money.

The Community Service Awards Committee has been working on this proposal.

The System Dynamics Society has a long and proud tradition of volunteer service. When it began, the Society was an all volunteer operation, with Julie Pugh acting as the Executive Director on a volunteer basis. Even after the establishment of a central office with a paid professional staff in 1996, the growth and development of the Society has been heavily dependent on the work of volunteers. The community services award recognizes individuals that have, on a volunteer basis, made significant contributions to the System Dynamics Society over an extended period of time. The award recognizes volunteer work because it is important in helping the Society to achieve its goals and because it highlights activities that can inspire others.

The proposed selection criteria reads:

The Community Services Award Committee will select individuals who have:

- Made a significant contribution to Society in a way that benefits the development and advancement of system dynamics
- Exhibited the highest standards of service excellence, dedication, and accomplishment over a sustained period of time.
- Taken initiative to move the Society forward
- Created positive results for Society members and the larger community of people interested in System Dynamics
- Fostered a culture of service and responsibility and set a standard to inspire others

What they will receive:

During the announcement a personalized plaque will be presented with a brief recitation of achievement. The award will also be announced in a Society Newsletter after the conference. Award recipients will be listed on the Society website.

The committee is still working on award name, description, frequency, and how awards should be presented if the recipient is not attending the conference. It seems a better idea that the more experienced past president rather than the president elect is part of the committee. We have identified two good candidates for the 2009 award.

- Report submitted by Khalid Saeed, Chair, SD Society Awards Committee.