## **Community Service Awards Committee Report, Summer 2009**

The Community Service Awards Committee was established by the Policy Council at the July 2008 meeting. Its purpose is to designate award winners as appropriate for awards for exceptional service, such as the Oustanding Service Award and the Lifetime Service Award. The Serving Past-President (chair), Roberta Spencer, Bob Eberlein, and Jack Pugh are to constitute the committee.

The committee met electronically during March and April. We discussed the criteria for the Oustanding Service Award and noted that this award is intended to be for exceptional service above and beyond the call of duty; as a result, we would not expect to make this award every year (although at this time we may have a bit of a backlog of eligible candidates). The committee discussed the possible candidates, and decided to make the first formal award at the 2009 conference.

Finally, for the record, prior awards in this category were:

Lifetime Service Recognition Award (2005) Robert Eberlein Lifetime Achievement Award (1998) R. Geoffrey Coyle Lifetime Service Recognition Award (1997) Alexander L. Pugh, III

Respectfully submitted,

Jim Lyneis, Chair