Abstract for: Lifetime Achievement Award Announcement and Introduction of Winner

The System Dynamics Society occasionally recognizes people for making a significant contribution to the field over an extended period of time by giving them the Lifetime Achievement Award. This is the only award of the Society that is based on a body of work done over a lifetime and not on a single publication. No nominations are solicited for the award, and the Forrester Award Committee selects the winner. The award carries a plaque recognizing the recipient's achievement. Before the 2013 conference, the award had been given only twice; in 1999 to R. Geoffrey Coyle and in 2011 to Diana Fisher. At the 2013 conference, the award was presented to John Richardson for his work in sustainable development and public policy..