# Agenda for Policy Council Meeting Summer 2017

11.00 AM, July 16, 2017, Location: Molly Pitcher

Chair: Len Malczynski, President 2017

Lunch with PhD Colloquium Participants: 12:30 to 1:30 PM (Charles View Ballroom)

NB: Item 4.a.1 may change position. We are expecting a visit from the President of Capitol Hill Management Services, Inc. We do not have an exact time.

#### 1) Welcome and Introductions

a) Welcome 2017 new members, thanks to outgoing members and continuing members

b) Call for Additions to the Agenda or Announcements

## 2) Opening and overview of electronic session

a) Review electronic votes between the end of 2017 Winter PC Meeting and the beginning of the 2017 Summer PC Meeting

## VOTED ON

160: Name change for the Psychology SIG by Özge Pala(Elke Husemann)Y:13/N:0/A:0/NV:12

161: Approve the creation of a Transportation SIG by Leonard Malczynski(Ozge Karanfil)Y:13/N:0/A:0/NV:12

162: Recognition of the Asset Dynamics SIG by Özge Pala(Leonard Malczynski)Y:13/N:0/A:0/NV:12

164: Motion to Approve Warren Farr as VP Marketing & Communications by Etiënne Rouwette(Pål Davidsen)Y:21/N:0/A:0/NV:4

166: Standing Committee Appointment for the terms 2017-2019 by Etiënne Rouwette(Diana Fisher)Y:14/N:0/A:3/NV:8

167: Approve Diana Fisher as Vice President Pre-College Education by J. Bradley Morrison(Robert Eberlein)Y:10/N:0/A:0/NV:15

168: Approve L Stuntz as Policy Council member to replace D Fisher by J. Bradley Morrison(Robert Eberlein)Y:10/N:0/A:0/NV:15

169: Approve the minutes of the 2016 Summer PC meeting by Robert Eberlein(David Andersen)Y:15/N:0/A:4/NV:6

170: Amend the language of Policy 10: Committees, Sec 3 (APCC) by Ignacio Martinez-Moyano(Robert Eberlein)Y:18/N:0/A:0/NV:7

171: Congratulate ASEAN Chapter and welcome APCC by Ignacio Martinez-Moyano(David Andersen)Y:19/N:0/A:0/NV:6

172: Approve the 2018 slate candidates by J. Bradley Morrison(Ignacio Martinez-Moyano)Y:20/N:0/A:1/NV:4

173: Designate CHMS as vendor for home office operations by Etiënne Rouwette(Ignacio Martinez-Moyano)Y:17/N:0/A:3/NV:5

174: Authorize Admin Comm to proceed with home office transition by Etiënne Rouwette(Robert Eberlein)Y:17/N:0/A:3/NV:5

175: Authorize expenditure up to \$100,000 for transition costs by Etiënne Rouwette(Ignacio Martinez-Moyano)Y:15/N:0/A:5/NV:5

176: Approve appointment of 2018 Conference Program Chairs by Ignacio Martinez-Moyano(Diana Fisher)Y:17/N:0/A:1/NV:7

179: Recognition of the ASEAN Chapter by Stefano Armenia(Warren Farr)Y:18/N:0/A:0/NV:7

181: Motion to organize the 2018 ISDC at the University of Iceland by Erik Pruyt(Etiënne Rouwette)Y:21/N:0/A:0/NV:4

#### WITHDRAWN

177: WITHDRAWN-Recognition of the ASEAN Chapter by Stefano Armenia(not seconded)

178: WITHDRAWN-Recognition of the ASEAN Chapter by Stefano Armenia(not seconded)

180: WITHDRAWN-Conference proceedings by Leonard Malczynski(Ozge Karanfil)Y:0/N:0/A:0/NV:25

## 3) Vice Presidential reports and updates

Since most reports moved forward to the Winter meeting, reflecting progress in 2016 and aims for 2017 the only full reports required are from VP Finance (due to the need for audited accounts.. However, certain matters are on-going and VPs are welcome to raise important additional issues.

a) Finance: David Andersen and AVP Eliot Rich

b) Chapters: Martin Schaffernicht and AVP Stefano Armenia i) includes ad hoc Field Development Committee

c) Electronic Presence: Bob Eberlein and AVP Onur Özgün

- d) Marketing and Communication: Peter Hovmand and AVP Nancy Zoellner)
- e) Meetings: Erik Pruyt and AVP Ozge Karanfil
  - i) Includes ad hoc Conference Scholarship Committee: Bob Eberlein
- f) Membership: Özge Pala and AVP Burak Guneralp

i) includes ad hoc Diversity Committee Report, Peter Hovmand

g) Professional Practice: Ken Cooper (and AVP TBA)

h) Publications: Pål Davidsen (and AVP TBA)

- i) Report from Publisher: Tracey Glass
- i) Executive Director: Roberta Spencer

k) Conflict of Interest report: Bob Eberlein, Brad Morrison; Roberta Spencer

#### 4) Standing Committee Reports

These reports are presented at the Winter meeting. Subsequent issues only to be reported, though other items may also be raised.

a) Administrative Committee: John Morecroft

1) Transition to CHMS THIS ITEM MAY CHANGE POSITION

b) Awards Committee: Erling Moxnes

1) Includes reports from Award Selection Subcommittees for Applications Award, Community Service, Dana Meadows and Jay Wright Forrester/Lifetime Achievement Awards)

c) Nominating Committee: Chair Jürgen Strohhecker to 7/31/17; Chair Etienne Rouwette starts 8/1/17

1. Present the Nominating Committee for the 2019 Slate and Announce PC Open Positions: Committee (Starts August 1, 2017) for Slate 2019:

#### The Proposed Slate of Candidates to Take Office January 1, 2018:

President-Elect, 2018–Martin Schaffernicht VP Electronic Presence (2018-2020)–Bob Eberlein VP Membership (2018-2020)–Özge Pala VP Publications (2018-2020)–Krystyna Stave VP K-12 (or Pre-College): (2017-2019) Diana Fisher 4 Policy Council Members (2018-2020): Shayne Gary, Hilde Martinussen, Josephine Musango, Rafaat Zaini

- d) Organization and Bylaws Committee: Brad Morrison1) Discussion of Bylaws Update
- e) Publications Committee: Pål I. Davidsen
  1) Includes report from Editor of the System Dynamics Review Yaman Barlas
- f) Society Program Oversight Committee: Andreas Größler
- g) Strategy Committee: Etiënne Rouwette

#### 5) Motions/Action Items

a) Approval of Minutes of Winter 2017 Policy Council Meeting b) Approval of Standing Committee Members appointed by the President (to be determined at the conference) Nominations Committee 2017-2019: (David Lane said yes to another term) Administrative Committee: 2017-2019 Awards Committee 2017-2019 (Shayne Gary 2017-2019) Organization and Bylaws Committee: 2017-2019 Society Program Oversight Committee: 2017-2019 Publications Committee 2017-2019 Strategy Committee 2017-2019 c) Approval of the Slate of Candidates to take office on January 1, 2018 2018 Officers and Policy Council President Elect: Martin Schaffernicht (2018) Past President: Leonard Malczynski (2018) President: Ignacio Martinez-Moyano (2018) Founding President: Jay W. Forrester Secretary: Brad Morrison (2017-2018) Vice President Electronic Presence: Bob Eberlein (2015-2017) Vice President Meetings: Erik Pruvt (2016-2018) Vice President Membership: Özge Pala (2015-2017) Vice President Publications: Kyrstina Stave (2017-2019) Vice President Chapter Activities: Stefano Armenia (2017-2019) Vice President Finance: David Andersen (2017-2019) Vice President Marketing: Peter Hovmand (2016-2018) Vice President Practice: Ken Cooper (2016-2018)

Policy Council (2015-2017): Özge Karanfil, Erik Pruyt, Gönenç Yucel Elke Husemann (partial term 2017 for S. Armenia)

Policy Council (2016-2018): Sharon Els, Diana Fisher, Rebecca Niles, Yutaka Takahashi Policy Council (2017-2019): John Pastor Ansah, Nancy Hayden, Florian Kapmeier, Nuno Videira

6) Strategic discussions: Len Malczynski

a) Certification Ad hoc Committee

b) Conference site selection 2019 Albuquerque presentation

c) Conference planning Ad Hoc Committee

7) Any other business