Agenda for Policy Council Meeting Summer 2016

11.00 AM, TPM Board Room, Delft University • Delft, Netherlands July 17, 2016

Chair: Etiënne Rouwette, President 2016

Lunch with PhD Colloquium Participants: 12:30 to 1:30 PM (TPM Board Room)

1) Welcome and Introductions

- a) Welcome 2016 new members, thanks to outgoing members and continuing members
- b) Call for Additions to the Agenda or Announcements

2) Opening and overview of electronic session

 Review electronic votes between the end of 2016 Winter PC Meeting and the beginning of the 2016 Summer PC Meeting

3) Vice Presidential reports and updates

Since most reports moved forward to the Winter meeting, reflecting progress in 2015 and aims for 2016, the only full reports required are from VP Finance (due to the need for audited accounts.. However, certain matters are on-going and VPs are welcome to raise important additional issues.

- a) Finance: David Andersen and AVP Eliot Rich
- b) Chapters: Martin Schaffernicht and AVP Stefano Armenia
 - i) includes ad hoc Field Development Committee
- c) Electronic Presence: Bob Eberlein and AVP Onur Özgün
- d) Marketing and Communication: Peter Hovmand and AVP Nancy Zoellner)
- e) Meetings: Erik Pruyt and AVP Ozge Karanfil
 - i) Includes ad hoc Conference Scholarship Committee: Bob Eberlein
 - ii) Report on Asia-Pacific Conference 2017. John Richardson
- f) Membership: Özge Pala and AVP Burak Guneralp
 - i) includes ad hoc Diversity Committee Report, Peter Hovmand
- g) Professional Practice: Ken Cooper (and AVP TBA)
- h) Publications: Pål Davidsen (and AVP TBA)
 - i) Report from Publisher: Tracey Glass
- i) Executive Director: Roberta Spencer

4) Standing Committee Reports

These reports are presented at the Winter meeting. Subsequent issues only to be reported, though other items may also be raised.

- a) Administrative Committee: John Morecroft
- b) Awards Committee: Erling Moxnes
 - i) Includes reports from Award Selection Subcommittees for Applications Award, Community Service, Dana Meadows and Jay Wright Forrester/Lifetime Achievement Awards)
- c) Nominating Committee: Chair Ed Anderson to 7/31/16; Chair Jürgen Strohhecker starts 8/1/16
 - i) Present the Nominating Committee for the 2018 Slate and Announce PC Open Positions:
 Committee (Starts August 1, 2016) for Slate 2018:
 Jürgen Strohhecker (Immediate Past President 2016) Chair; term: 8/16 7/17

Etienne Rouwette (President 2016) Len Malczynski (President Elect 2016) David Lane (8/2013 - 7/2016) Sharon Els (8/2014 - 7/2017) Lees Stuntz (8/2015 - 7/2018)

PC Open Positions, 2018-2020 Term

President Elect: XXXX (2018)

VP Electronic Presence: XXXX (2018-2020) VP Membership: XXXXX (2018-2020) VP Publications: XXXX (2018-2020)

Policy Council (2018-2020): 4 PC Members And VP K-12 (or Pre-College): XXXX (2017-2019)

- d) Organization and Bylaws Committee: Brad Morrison
 - i) Discussion of Bylaws Update
- e) Publications Committee: Pål I. Davidsen
 - i) Includes report from Editor of the System Dynamics Review Yaman Barlas
 - ii) Report from Ad-hoc Publication Strategy Committee Pål Davidsen, David Ford, Sara Metcalf, Krystyna Stave, and Susan Howick (see Discussion item below)
- f) Society Program Oversight Committee: Andreas Größler
- g) Strategy Committee: Etiënne Rouwette

5) Motions/Action Items

- a) Approval of Minutes of Winter 2016 Policy Council Meeting
- b) Name change for newly approved VP K-12 Education to VP Pre-College Education and appropriate changes to Policies (appointment listed under Nominating Committee)
- c) Approval of Standing Committee Members appointed by the President (to be determined at the conference)
 - Nominations Committee 2017-2019: (David Lane said yes to another term)
 - Administrative Committee: 2017-2019
 - Awards Committee 2017-2019
 - Organization and Bylaws Committee: 2017-2019
 Society Program Oversight Committee: 2017-2019
 - Publications Committee 2017-2019
 - Strategy Committee 2017-2019
- d) Approval of the Slate of Candidates to take office on January 1, 2017

2017 Officers and Policy Council

President Elect: I. Martinez-Moyano (2017)
Past President: Etiënne Rouwette (2017)
President: Leonard Malczynski (2017)
Founding President: Jay W. Forrester
Secretary: Brad Morrison (2017-2018)

Vice President Electronic Presence: Bob Eberlein (2015-2017)

Vice President Meetings: Erik Pruyt (2016-2018) Vice President Membership: Özge Pala (2015-2017) Vice President Publications: Pål Davidsen (2015-2017)

Vice President Meetings: Erik Pruyt (2016-2018)

Vice President Chapter Activities: Stefano Armenia (2017- 2019)

Vice President Finance: David Andersen (2017-2019)
Vice President Marketing: Peter Hovmand (2016-2018)

Vice President Practice: Ken Cooper (2016-2018)

Policy Council (2015-2017): Özge Karanfil, Erik Pruyt, Gönenç Yucel Elke Husemann (partial term

2017 for S. Armenia)

Policy Council (2016-2018): Sharon Els, Diana Fisher, Rebecca Niles, Yutaka Takahashi

Policy Council (2017-2019): John Pastor Ansah, Nancy Hayden, Florian Kapmeier, Nuno Videira

6) Strategic discussion: Etiënne Rouwette

- a) Publications Strategy: Pål Davidsen, David Ford and Sara Metcalf, Krystyna Stave, and Susan Howick
- b) Certification Ad hoc Committee
- 7) Any other business