Report to the Policy Council Winter Meeting 2014 for The Dana Meadows Award 2013

There were 48 papers nominated for the 2013 Award of which 11 remained for evaluation after withdrawals, rejections and disqualifications due to stricter adherence to the clarified Requirements as detailed on Dana Meadows Award page (http://conference.systemdynamics.org/dm/). The winner was Sebastian Villa Betancur from the University of Lugano for a paper entitled "Exploring Retailer's Ordering Decisions under Delays" (co-authored with Paulo Goncalves and Santiago Arango). The honorable mention was Rodney James Scott from the University of Queensland for a paper entitled "Evaluating the long-term impact of qualitative system dynamics workshops on participant mental models" (co-authored with Bob Cavana and Donald Cameron).

Prior to the completion of the Award Committee's work for 2013, John Morecroft informed us of his desire to resign from the Committee. We wish to thank John most sincerely for all of his contributions to the Society and for his exemplary work for the Committee since its inception. We wish him well in his future endeavours.

A search for a new Committee member was undertaken during the Fall to keep the size at a useful and manageable six members. The result is a proposal from the Committee:

To nominate Özge Pala as a member of the Dana Meadows Award Committee, to commence with the Award process for the 2014 Conference. This nomination is in pursuit of the Society's policy of renewal of its committees, and of achieving a better gender balance within the Committee.

Joel Rahn, Chairman Dana Meadows Award Committee